just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Christmas Muppets and randomness

2003-12-12 | 9:35 a.m.
Christmas themed Muppets and other random musings

It�s Friday! So much yay! This weekend K and I have no social plans, for the first time in approximately a million years. I figured we needed a little time off before the Christmas and wedding craziness that is about to ensue. Plus we have many Christmas movies (on TiVo and video) to watch. My very favorite is �White Christmas�, but I will watch almost anything Christmas themed. Growing up the big Christmas movie in our house was �Emmet Otter�s Jug-Band Christmas� and I was very surprised to discover as an adult that almost no one else had heard of it. It has Muppets, and a singing weasel, and copious jug-band related goodness�what more could you ask for during the yuletide season?

A new addition to our Christmas collection this year was �The Muppet Christmas Carol� which I heartily recommend. Do I sound oddly Muppet obsessed? I bought a bunch of videos and Christmas CDs this year on ebay because, in case I haven�t mentioned it before, my job is really, really dull. So it was time well spent.

In wedding news, I am feeling much happier towards the bridesmaid and maid of honor who had previously been driving me crazy. I had nice chats with both of them and I am over being mad about their behavior. As the wedding gets closer I am just generally feeling happier and less stressed. Which is a good thing.

And now, for your reading pleasure, here is a Friday Five:

1. Do you enjoy the cold weather and snow for the holidays?

It doesn�t really seem like Christmas without them, although I do really have being cold.

2. What is your ideal holiday celebration? How, where, with whom would you celebrate to make things perfect?

My very favorite Christmases are at my parents� house. I am very excited about having the K there this year. Ideally I would have all of my sisters and extended family there as well.

3. Do you do have any holiday traditions?

We eat Kringle, which is a Dutch pastry. My mom does amazing stocking, which may be my favorite part of Christmas. We go to church Christmas eve. Lots of fun stuff.

4. Do you do anything to help the needy?

I have volunteered off and on throughout my life. When we first moved here I called around five places and was told they didn�t need volunteers, which seemed on. So I am in the Junior League and the Jaycees, which are both community service organizations. But I have a lot of liberal guilt about not doing enough.

5. What one gift would you like for yourself?

A HUGE gift certificate to Amazon.com so I could buy lots and lots of books. Or maybe so really big diamond earrings.

I am planning on spending my work day listening to Christmas carols and counting down the minutes to the weekend. I hope you all are able to similarly waste time!

Reading: More Nancy Drews. She's quite the busy bee.

Craving: Food! I'm totally starving right now. And gloves because I'm freezing.

Thinking: I can't wait to go home!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com