just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

An ode to Christmas

2003-11-19 | 3:19 p.m.
Sleigh bells ring�

I absolutely love Christmas.

I know this is a fairly common sentiment, but I love it with an all-consuming passion. Our Christmas decorations have already been up for a couple of weeks (and I only waited as long as I did because K has a firm �no Christmas decorations before November 1st rule�). I have started my annual watching of Christmas movies and listening to Christmas CDs. I am totally obsessed.

It is just the absolute best time of the year. I don�t know quite why I love it so much, other than the obvious lure of any present giving holiday, of course. It just encompasses every good feeling of being happy and safe and content for me. And at heart, I am a creature of habit. I enjoy little rituals like watching and listening to the same things every year. I should be glad that this kind of behavior hasn�t spiraled me right into some kind of cult. Another important factor, of course, is the abundance or sweets I eat between Halloween and New Years. It�s possible that my love of Christmas is nothing more than a lengthy sugar coma.

This year my favorite carols all seem to be snow related. �Let it Snow� and �Baby it�s Cold Outside� are both experiencing heavy rotations. This is perhaps because this is my first Christmas season that will be mainly spent in California (we are still going back to the east coast for Christmas and the wedding, so it only sort of counts). Still, it�s a little weird to be putting up Christmas lights in a short-sleeved shirt.

Not that I even particularly like being cold. I usually spend all winter complaining about the weather. And after last year, where while living in Kentucky we endured approximately four months of ice storms and snow, I thought I would be more than ready for a December filled with 80 degree days. But I guess I still like the idea of winter. Luckily for me, the people who run this building apparently don�t want me to be too homesick, so they have jacked up the AC the better to approximate colder climes. So those who worried that my move to the West coast would have me packing up my wool sweaters can rest easy.

Thank you, kind University employers!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com