just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Thanksgiving recap

2003-12-01 | 2:46 p.m.
Home Again, Home Again

I have returned unscathed from my Thanksgiving festivities.

We arrived at 5:15 am on Thursday morning, after taking the red eye. I am always of two minds about the red eye. It doesn�t waste the whole day, like flying back east at any other time does, but it totally throws off my sleep (I am not the best on the plane sleeper) and I always feel a little out of it for most of the visit.

Anyway. Got there, went home, went to sleep. Thanksgiving itself was good. There was, as I had hoped, much pie (pumpkin, lemon chess, and apple). The prodigal son and brother Bob was there, with his wife and son. It was very nice to see him. He seems cool, and we share a similar sense of humor (dominated by a love of puns). I didn�t get a chance to bond all that much, but it was nice to put an actual person to the email exchange.

I look forward to staying in touch with him, although he so far is not the greatest of correspondents, which makes things a tad more difficult.

His son was also very cute, and eased some of the awkwardness with his baby antics.

Friday there was much running around. Had my hair trial, and picked up our wedding rings. The K was sick with some sort of stomach bug, which was no fun for either of us. I also had a to run a very involved errand for my future mother in law, which as it was made up of going downtown during rush hour in the rain, I was not so thrilled with.

Friday night there was family bonding. We ate leftovers and played some rousing games of �Who Wants to Be a Millionaire� and �What�s that on my Head?� I won the former and lost the latter (which is a logic game where you try to guess the cards you have on your head).

Saturday was the shower, which ended up being quite fun. K came, and although he was the only boy he seemed to enjoy his first wedding shower experience. The two of us wrecked house at bridal shower scategories. He was quite excited with his prize of nail polish.

It was nice to see all the women who came and we got quite a bit of kitchen related booty. (We have next to nothing, and what we do have is third or fourth hand, so this was quite exciting).

We flew back that night, and had the unprecedented experience of landing 40 minutes early. Very cool. Sunday was spent getting things organized and taking the dog to dog beach.

And, since I missed it on Friday, here is a Monday five.

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not?

I do like to shop, but not for long stretches of time. I think I like the idea of shopping (which is realized by shopping on the internet) better than actually shopping (going to stores) because I hate that �everything looks bad on me and this is a huge waste of time feeling.� I also hate shopping when it�s crowded. You couldn�t have paid me enough to shop this Friday.

2. What was the last thing you purchased?

An outfit for my rehearsal dinner

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?

See number one. Generally online, although it�s riskier

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?

I did get an allowance. I think by the time I was in middle school it was like $25 a week.

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?

I bought a shirt from J. Crew that really didn�t work out and now I have to return.

Ok. I hope everyone�s holiday was good!

Reading: Finishing up magazines and indulging in Christmas themed romance novels (don't judge me).

Craving: Diet Coke, Diet Coke, Diet Coke (have I mentioned I am trying to give it up?)

Thinking: Tonight is the first event I have organized for my job. Hopefully it will go well!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com