just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Wedding recap part I

2004-01-12 | 3:09 p.m.
A wedding recap (part one)

We had the quietest weekend imaginable. I am still sleeping a ton in the post wedding recovery period. We were both asleep by nine on Friday, which is perhaps a little sad. We managed to watch four DVDs (Pirates of the Caribbean, How to Deal, Alex and Emma, and Bruce Almighty) and some of our wedding videos and not too much else.

Now K is off in Palo Alto for work training for a few days, leaving me all by my lonesome.

Anyway. So I flew home on the red eye on Thursday, December 18. That Friday I ran around doing wedding stuff including having my last wedding gown fitting. (It really was the best wedding dress ever.)

Saturday night was the bachlorette party, which I mentioned before briefly. Not so much fun. I don�t have the most partyish friends, so the whole evening was sort of awkward. Oh well.

Sunday we went to see the third Lord of the Rings movie, which pleased my K to no end. It wasn�t my favorite movie (too violent) but I was happy he was happy.

Monday more running around and a nice coffee date with HB, my maid of honor. It�s so good that we managed to get things back on track pre-wedding. I am feeling so happy about our friendship and such. Although she's still planning on disappearing off to London. So sad.

Tuesday there was a final meeting at the hotel to go over all the details and then my bridesmaids� tea at the Four Seasons. So nice. I used to go there for tea every Christmas with my mother, so it was nice to go again.

Wednesday and Thursday there were Christmas festivities. Christmas got consumed by the wedding a little this year, but there was church going and presents and then 20 people for Christmas dinner (Kevin�s whole family came). It was actually pretty nice. My sisters were there (yay!) and I had a lot of wine, which always makes things go smoother.

Friday I had lunch with HG, the difficult bridesmaid. It was nice, although she remains the most self-involved person I know. At least she�s consistent. The rehearsal and rehearsal dinner were lots of fun. So good to see everyone, including my new niece who I finally got to meet. Nice toasts were given, tears were shed (but the happy kind) and a good time was had by all.

The day of the wedding is a total blur. I spent the day getting ready with my bridesmaids. I looked quite lovely, if I do say so myself. Once I get the photos back I will post one. I was SO nervous during the ceremony and cried pretty much the whole time (but, again, happy tears). The only semi-disaster was that HG fainted during my vows. I was, admittedly, kind of bummed. But she felt way worse than I did.

But then we were married! Yay! The reception was fun. Everyone danced and seemed to have a great time. And the suite we stayed in that night was twice as big as our house. Good deal.

The next day we had a post-wedding brunch, which was nice, although at that point I was SO tired.

I will talk about the honeymoon in part two.

Reading: A Diane Mott Davidson mystery.

Craving: A really good grilled cheese. Yum.

Thinking: I miss my K. Come home!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com