just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Non-readers confuse me

2003-12-11 | 12:06 p.m.
The great mystery of life

Ok. I know we�ve heard this rant before. But how is it possible that there are people in the world who do not read for pleasure? Really, I just have so many questions. What do they do with all the ensuing free time? Aren�t they so very, very unhappy? God knows I would be.

Last night was another Junior League meeting. (Ah�people who don�t read and the women in the Junior League�two rants that rant great together). We had to do a getting to know you exercise. There is no concept that chills me to my very core quite as much. Anyway, you had to list a bunch of favorites and then find other members who shared them. One of the questions was favorite author. I saw at least 20 girls who either left that one blank or hurriedly whispered to each other �Quick, give me an author! I don�t read!�

But�how is that even possible�.?

Is it wrong that at the point someone says that I immediately think that I can never be friends with them because we will never have anything to talk about?

In other Junior League related news, it has come to my attention that I am a social gimp. I have always been almost painfully shy, but I think as I get older and more rarely have to interact with large groups that it�s getting worse. When I walk into the room of perky Junior League women, all I want to do is go home. It�s like I become some sort of bumbling mute.

And although I am okay with not being a social butterfly, I do think I need to master group situations a little better. If anyone has any suggestions of getting over this paralyzing fear/hatred of talking to strangers, I will welcome them.

Can I tell you that the clip art at the bottom of this entry makes me laugh? I adore penguins, and an animal in a hat is always a winner.

Reading: Trashy Christmas themed romance novels (and yet I still judge others)

Craving: Mexican food

Thinking: Is there something socially repellant about me?

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com