just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Losing things and salad eaters

2003-12-09 | 1:35 p.m.
Poltergeists. But the annoying kind.

I think I am losing my mind. During the course of yesterday I managed to lose both a hardback library book and my sunglasses. And I didn�t even lose them at the same time/place because I had my sunglasses as late as yesterday evening while I noticed the book was gone yesterday at lunch.

For a while I had convinced myself that they were at home/in my car/in my office. But as I searched increasingly frantically as today progressed, I had to face facts. They are just gone.

How is this possible? My sunglasses I can maybe see, although I am not really a person who loses sunglasses. But a large hardback book? How did that happen?

In addition, my Palm Pilot, once so beloved, has totally revolted. It not only died and had to be reset, thereby losing all saved information, but it now refuses to sync with the computer.

After much soul searching, I figured out what is happening. Poltergeists. But not the big scary kind from the movie. These are just annoying. Unless, of course, this is just the beginning of their rein of terror. I guess if I never write again after today you should assume they cut my brakes or something.

Anyway. Last night I went to a Junior League function. Yes, I am a provisional member of the Junior League. Judge away.

The purpose of my joining was to make friends out here, which has so far not been so successful. The whole process just isn�t really working for me. I avoided sororities in college like the plague (in fact I choose a school with no Greek system). Not that there�s really anything wrong with them, I am just not really much of a joiner and don�t really like being told what to do (pretty much the same reasons I am not in the Army). And the Junior League is, let�s face it, a sorority for grown ups. And the reasons I should just have skipped this still apply. But I�ve paid them my $300 for my dues and am now loathe to just drop out.

We shall see. I went to dinner with my provisional group a while ago and they were all atrocious. They were like stereotypes come to life. They all ordered salads with their dressing on the side and talked about how much they didn�t like reading. No, really.

So, if you know of an organization populated by smart girls who eat carbs, drop me a line.

Reading: Well, not Betsy's Wedding, since it was stolen from me by the spirit world. Right now some TVOP.

Craving: A smoothie. I think I'm getting scurvy so much do I miss my goal of five a day.

Thinking: But where could they be?!? Where!?!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com