just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Family musings

2004-02-27 | 11:50 a.m.
Yay for Friday! Seriously, people, I feel like this has been two weeks stuffed into two. Having a really busy weekend just throws me off for the rest of the week.

Today and Saturday are going to be spent doing a lot of cleaning for my parents� arrival on Sunday morning. Also on Saturday we�re going to go and meet the potential dog, and are also getting our foster guinea pigs. Did I talk about that before? We�re going to take in a couple of guinea pigs for this rescue organization and foster them until someone wants to adopt them. I�m kind of excited.

I am looking forward to seeing my parents, although it�s definitely easier to entertain just my mom than either both of them or just my dad. He just tends to not want to do much.

So, my parents. I am very close to my mom. She occasionally drives me crazy, but is generally wonderful, and we are for the most part the best of friends. The older I get the more I realize how similar we can be, and just generally appreciate having a mom. I cannot imagine my life without her. No one will ever love me like she does, K included, so I try to spend lots of time with her while I can. Which is not to say our relationship is perfect. We have very different priorities. She is very into her career, and has made it clear that I have disappointed her by wanting to be a teacher and stay at home mom and not being a lawyer or a doctor. Also, I have suspected/known for the past 2 � years that she�s been having an affair, which I definitely have some trouble with. My parents don�t have the best marriage and my dad isn�t the greatest husband, but it still kind of sucks. Still, I try not to carry any anger towards her around.

My dad is a good guy for the most part, and as with my mother I really work to let go of any bad feelings towards him. He loves me and does his best to be a good dad; he�s just not very good at expressing himself or talking things through. Plus he has a horrible temper. Growing up I was absolutely petrified of him.

Ah, families. They�re complicated, but I absolutely appreciate mine.

Anyway. That was a rather long tangent. Get to know me!

There was no current Friday Five this week, so I took an old one:

1. What was the last song you heard?

Something from my fun new mix (yay!). Maybe �Watch the Wind Blow� by Tim McGraw?

2. What were the last two movies you saw?

In the theater: �50 First Dates� and �Along Came Polly.�

On DVD �Under the Tuscan Sun� and that George Clooney movies who�s name I keep forgetting.

3. What were the last three things you purchased?

Since K is about to abandon me, I just bought the �Sex and the City: Season 5� DVD and seven books on Amazon.com.

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend?

Clean the house (!!!), get the guinea pigs, write two thank you notes, see the potential dog.

5. Who are the last five people you talked to?

People in my office and K.

Reading: Magazines! I'm being buried under them at home.

Craving: 5:00 baby!

Thinking: I hope the pigs are cuddly!

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com