just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...
just-married...musings of a new bride...

Drug tales

2003-11-24 | 1:22 p.m.
Drugs from A to Z

Oh I don�t like Mondays. Not only is work semi-sucky, as I am sure most people can relate to, but after spending two whole days with the lovely K, I always have withdrawal pangs. Damn him and his addictively enjoyable personality.

So this weekend. Friday night we lay around like the big slugs we are. We were maybe going to go and see �Love, Actually� but K wasn�t feeling so hot. So there was much watching of TiVo, which is pretty much a guaranteed good time.

Saturday we hit the mall. I hadn�t been shopping in forever, given our until recently stage of brokenness. But I needed some clothes for Christmas and for the rehearsal dinner. We were quite successful (K accompanied me � what a nice fianc�!) and my clothing needs were met (thank you Ann Taylor, for your lovely clothes and affordable sale prices!)

Saturday night we went and had dinner with SG and RG (I am so unclear as to what to do with names in this diary, so I am sticking to initials for now�perhaps developing nicknames for reoccurring characters at some point?) some recent friends of ours from the Jaycee group we joined out here. We had met and liked them at a few functions, but this was out first time just getting together.

We had much fun. There was wine (ahhh�. social lubrication) and eating and much talking. They are a total trip. They are very �Californian� in a completely nice way � very into alternative medicine and herbs and energy and such.

They totally cracked us up. My personal favorite was the story of how RG has been at a gathering of SG�s family when one of her cousins had challenged the size of his manhood. He dropped trou, wrapped his penis around his wrist and loudly exclaimed, �What time is it? It�s Hammer Time!� Ha!

They also told us tales of their (apparently once quite copious) drug use (now come to an end with the birth of their child). They told us that they knew a drug for almost every letter of the alphabet and then proceeded to list them along with the stories of the times they had done them. Oh my. Since my drug experience is next to nothing and K�s actually is nothing, we were quite entertained. I have to say, though, that I remain uninterested in drugs. Not only am I sure that I would be that one in a million girl who would take one snort of coke and drop dead, but I figure I also have enough trouble navigating my day to day life without adding the �I�m going to go to jail/be high forever/die� fears that drugs would no doubt bring. I will stick to the sweet, sweet embrace of alcohol.

Anyway. A good time had by all, although K and I were the tiniest bit shamed that these people who are ten years older than we are are infinitely wilder. We are old before our time. Oh well, it�s good we found each other, then.

SG also did a really interesting energy reading, but I will save that story for tomorrow.

Reading: The Magician's Assistant by Ann Patchett

Craving: Sugar and caffeine - so much for giving them up for the six weeks before my wedding

Student teaching begins - 2005-02-20
Three more days!! - 2005-02-07
Weekend recap - 2005-01-31
Oh the hate - 2005-01-26
Yay for staying home! - 2005-01-24

i carry | your heart

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com